Student Worker Visa

Effective July 1, 2012, new points system has been rolled out the below mentioned Skilled Migration Visas. The Qualifying Score is now 60 points for Skilled Subclasses:
1. Skilled Independent Subclass 189
2. Skilled Sponsored Subclass 190
3. Skilled Regional Sponsored Subclass 489

Also, effective from July, 2013, only newly introduced Consolidated Skilled Occupation List (CSOL) would be applicable.

Department of Immigration and Citizenship Australia introduces ANZSCO wef 1 July 2010. Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO) is a system developed to collect, publish and analyse occupation statistics across government agencies and is being introduced by the department as the new standard to capture occupation information in all visa, settlement and citizenship programs.

General Skilled Migrant Program

Australia's economy remains one of the strongest in the world, offering millions of jobs every week, making it an extremely preferred destination for highly skilled young people. It also exhibits that Australian employers require skilled workforce for achieving their organizational goals.

The eligibility of skilled migrants, who desire to immigrate to Australia, is assessed on a point-based system. In this system, points are awarded after considering the age, work experience, qualifications and language proficiency of the aspirant.

The applicants need to satisfy the following threshold requirements:

• Submit an expression of interest (EOI);
• Have an occupation that is on the relevant skilled occupation list
• Be under 50 years of age at the time of applying for a visa;
• Meet the threshold English language requirement of competent English;
• Have a suitable skills assessment for that occupation
• Be able to score at least 60 on the points test.